National Israel Holidays
List of Public and Bank Holidays

Public Israel holidays are a fantastic time to visit and sight-see in Tel Aviv, whether you are Jewish or not.

On most of the holidays, city streets are decorated, most museums are open and there are holiday events for both adults and children.

Public Israel holidays are different than public holidays anywhere else. Israel is the only country in the world whose national holidays are primarily based on Jewish holidays, which start at sunset and end the following evening.





2016 Public Holidays in Israel

Here is a list of the dates of all the bank and public Israel holidays.

If you are a business traveler, make sure to check the dates below before your visit.

Date

Holiday

Info

Sun. Oct. 2

Eve of Rosh Hashana - Jewish New Year 

Half or Full Day Off

Mon. - Tue. Oct.. 3 -4 

 Rosh Hashana - the Jewish New Year 

Full Days Off

Tue. Oct. 11

Eve of Yom Kippur -  Day of Atonement

Half or Full Day Off

Wed. Oct. 12

Yom Kippur -  Day of Atonement

Full Day Off.  No transportation. More on Yom Kippur below.

Sun. Oct. 16

Eve of Sukkot - Tabernacles

Half or Full Day Off

Mon. Oct. 17

Sukkot - Tabernacles

Full Day Off

Tue. - Sat. Oct, 18 Oct. - 22

Chol Hamoed Sukkot - Tabernacles Intermediate Days 

Public institutions are closed. Most companies work half or full days.

Sun. Oct 23

Eve of Last Day of Sukkot - Hoshana Raba

Half or Full Day Off

Mon. Oct 24

Last Day of Sukkot - Simchat Torah

Full Day Off

Sun. Dec. 25 - Sun. Jan 1.

Hanuka

Most companies work full days. Schools are closed for some days.


2017 Public Holidays in Israel

Date

Holiday

Info

Sun. March 12

Purim

Banks and public institutions are closed, except in Jerusalem.. Most companies work

Mon. March 13 

Shushan Purim (celebrated in Jerusalem)

Banks, public institutions and many businesses in Jerusalem are closed

Mon. Apr. 10 

Eve of Pesach - Passover

Half or Full Day Off

Tue. Apr. 11

Pesach - Passover

Full day off

Wed. - Thu. Apr. 12 - 13

Chol Hamoed Pesach - Passover Intermediate Days

Public institutions are closed. Most companies work half or full days.

Sun. Apr. 16

Eve of Last Day of Pesach - Passover

Half or full day off

Mon. Apr. 17

Last Day of Pesach - Passover

Full day off

Mon. May 4

Eve of Israel Independence Day, Israel Memorial Day

Half or full day off

Tue. May 5

Israel Independence Day

Full day off

Tue. May 30

 Eve of Shavuot - Pentecost

Half or Full Day Off

Wed. May 31 

Shavuot - Pentecost

Full Day Off

Mon. Jul 31

Eve of Tisha B'Av 

Most businesses are open

Tue. Aug. 1

Tisha B'Av - Day of Fast

Banks and public institutions are closed. Most companies work.

Wed. Sep. 20

Eve of Rosh Hashana - Jewish New Year 

Half or Full Day Off

Thu. Sep. 21

Rosh Hashana - Jewish New Year 

Full Day Off

Fri. Sep. 22

Rosh Hashana - Jewish New Year

Rosh Hashana - Jewish New Year

Fri. Sep. 29

Eve of Yom Kippur -  Day of Atonement

Most companies are closed on Friday. 

Sat. Sep 30

Yom Kippur -  Day of Atonement

Full Day Off.  No transportation. More on Yom Kippur below.

Wed. Oct 4

Eve of Sukkot - Tabernacles

Half of Full Day Off

Thu. Oct 5

Sukkot - Tabernacles

Full Day Off

Sun - Tue. Oct 8 - 10

Chol Hamoed Sukkot - Tabernacles Intermediate Days 

Public institutions are closed. Most companies work half or full days.

Wed. Oct 11

Eve of Last Day of Sukkot - Hoshana Raba

Half or Full Day Off

Thu. Oct 12

Last Day of Sukkot - Simchat Torah

Full Day Off

Wed. Dec 13 - Wed. Dec 20

Hanuka

Most companies work full days. Schools are closed for some days.


Yom Kippur is Unique in Israel

Once a year, almost of Israel shuts down on Yom Kippur, a Jewish holiday that falls somewhere between mid  September to midOctober. Around 4 – 5 PM on the eve of Yom Kippur, the country goes quiet as almost all private cars and motor bikes stop running.

israel holidays - yom kippur kids bike on tel aviv streets day and night

photo courtesy of Yoni Lerner

The streets and highways around Tel Aviv fill up with kids biking and families strolling the normally buzzing boulevards.

There is an amazing and tranquil atmosphere until sundown the next day. It's my favorite day of the year, since I moved to Israel.


Israel Holiday Eves and
'Chol HaMoed' - Intermediate' Holiday Days 


Holiday Eves and Eve of Sabbath

All Jewish holidays begin on the sundown before the actual holiday date.  That's the reason that the holiday eve is also a full or a half vacation day. 

Like the eves of Israel holidays, the Jewish Sabbath also begins on the sundown of Friday. So many banks and institutions are closed on Friday or are open only half a day on Friday mornings until the early afternoon. 


Chol HaMoed -  'Intermediate' Holidays

Like holiday eves, there are two 'intermediate' holidays (called in Hebrew 'Hol HaMoed) when banks and other official places are closed, either all day or on the 2nd half of the day. 


If you would like to read a short summary on each of the Jewish holidays, I recommend this link.  




› Israel National Holidays

Facebook Comments

Enjoyed your visit? Have something to say? Why not leave a comment in the box below.