National Israel Holidays
List of Public and Bank Holidays

Public Israel holidays are a fantastic time to visit and sight-see, whether you are Jewish or not.

On most of the holidays, city streets are decorated, many museums are open and there are holiday events for both adults and children.

Public Israel holidays are different than public holidays anywhere else. Israel is the only country in the world whose national holidays are primarily based on Jewish holidays, which start at sunset and end the following evening.

Read more about Friday (Sabbath eve), holiday eve, and 'Chol HaMoed' - Intermediate holidays here.



2018 Public Holidays in Israel

Here is a list of the dates of all the bank and public Israel holidays.

If you are a business traveler, make sure to check the dates below before your visit.

Thu. March 1

Purim

Banks and public institutions are closed, except in Jerusalem. Most companies work

Fri. March 2 

Shushan Purim (celebrated in Jerusalem)

Banks, public institutions and most businesses in Jerusalem are closed

Fri. Mar. 30 

Eve of Pesach - Passover

Half or Full Day Off

Sat. Mar. 31

Pesach - Passover

Full day off (as usual on Saturday)

Sun. - Wed. Apr. 1 - 4

Chol Hamoed Pesach - Passover Intermediate Days

Public institutions are closed. Most companies work half or full days.

Thu. Apr. 5

Eve of Last Day of Pesach - Passover

Half or full day off

Fri. Apr. 6

Last Day of Pesach - Passover

Full day off

Wed. Apr. 18

Eve of Israel Independence Day, Israel Memorial Day

Half or full day off

Thu. Apr. 19

Israel Independence Day

Full day off

Sat. May 19

Eve of Shavuot - Pentecost

Full Day Off (as usual on Saturday)

Sun. May 20 

Shavuot - Pentecost

Full Day Off

Sun. Jul. 22

Tisha B'Av - Day of Fast

Banks and public institutions are closed. Most companies work.

Sun. Sep. 9

Eve of Rosh Hashana - Jewish New Year 

Half or Full Day Off

Mon. - Tue. Sep. 10 - 11

Rosh Hashana - Jewish New Year 

Full Day Off (2 days)

Tue. Sep. 18

Eve of Yom Kippur -  Day of Atonement

Half or Full Day Off

 

Wed. Sep 19

Yom Kippur -  Day of Atonement

Full Day Off.  No transportation. Read more on Yom Kippur in Israel.

Sun. Sep. 23

Eve of Sukkot - Tabernacles

Half of Full Day Off

Mon. Sep. 24

Sukkot - Tabernacles

Full Day Off

Tue - Thu. Sep. 25 -27

Chol Hamoed Sukkot - Tabernacles Intermediate Days 

Public institutions are closed. Most companies work half or full days.

Sun. Sep. 30

Eve of Last Day of Sukkot - Hoshana Raba

Half or Full Day Off

Mon. Oct 1

Last Day of Sukkot - Simchat Torah

Full Day Off

Sun. Dec 2 - Mon. Dec 10

Hanuka

Most companies work full days. Schools are closed for some days.


Yom Kippur is Unique in Israel

Once a year, almost of Israel shuts down on Yom Kippur, a Jewish holiday that falls somewhere between mid  September to midOctober. Around 4 – 5 PM on the eve of Yom Kippur, the country goes quiet as almost all private cars and motor bikes stop running.

israel holidays - yom kippur kids bike on tel aviv streets day and night

photo courtesy of Yoni Lerner

The streets and highways around Tel Aviv fill up with kids biking and families strolling the normally buzzing boulevards.

There is an amazing and tranquil atmosphere until sundown the next day. It's my favorite day of the year, since I moved to Israel.


Israel Holiday Eves and
'Chol HaMoed' - Intermediate' Holiday Days 

Holiday Eves and Eve of Sabbath

All Jewish holidays begin on the sundown before the actual holiday date.  That's the reason that the holiday eve is also a full or a half vacation day. 

Like the eves of Israel holidays, the Jewish Sabbath also begins on the sundown of Friday. So many banks and institutions are closed on Friday or are open only half a day on Friday mornings until the early afternoon. 


Chol HaMoed -  'Intermediate' Holidays

Like holiday eves, there are two 'intermediate' holidays (called in Hebrew 'Hol HaMoed) when banks and other official places are closed, either all day or on the 2nd half of the day. 

Want a short description of Jewish holidays? Lean more here.  



Your may also be interested in:


› Israel National Holidays

Facebook Comments

Enjoyed your visit? Have something to say? Why not leave a comment in the box below.